A time for change

August 14, 2011 at 1:25 pm 1 comment

It has been no secret that I have been struggling with depression for some time. For me one of the major issues is that I have been unable to keep up the house in a respectable state. The problem then is that I can’t have anyone over and neither can the kids and home ceases to be a place of peace and refuge when the clutter takes over.  I have been making gains with the whole depression thing. Most days I am able to make decisions like what to cook for dinner, most days I’m able to get myself out of bed without a major struggle….but still the house has made little or no progress and I am putting my foot down and deciding that it is time for a change.  I have made a decision to clean up before but sadly it always falls over after an hour or a day or two…this time I want to make sure that it doesn’t fall over.

It took a while for the house to get into it’s present state so there isn’t going to be an instant solution – it will take time.  I figured that what I really needed was a PLAN of ACTION.  So I bought a ‘to do list’ notebook (bargain $2 from woolies) and I made a list of all the things that need to be done – breaking them up into small tasks rather than ‘clean the loungeroom’ type tasks. I made a list of jobs for me and a list of jobs for the kids for each room in the house.  So over the next two weeks we are going to leave the bedrooms & playroom and we are going to focus on getting the rest of the house into a fit state.  I keep putting it off because it is too hard. But at the end of my list writing I have 1-3 jobs a day for me and the same for the kids.  So really it isn’t going to be as hard as I had thought. At the end of these two weeks the main living spaces should be tidy (not spotless perhaps but tidy) and then I’ll make a plan for the bedrooms and the playroom – whilst maintaining the living spaces!

So now I just need to stick to the plan! Putting it here is a step further in my commitment. I am making a public promise to myself to get my house in order because I think I need to!  Will try to post here more often too!

wish me luck

Jude

Entry filed under: HOME & GARDEN, Just Me.

Is job satisfaction a myth? updated the 50 things list

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen H  |  September 4, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    ahhh I hadnt looked at your blog for ages so just catching up now ….. hows the tidying going. Once you hjave your place sorted out you are MOST WELCOME to come tidy mine!!! lol
    Jenb

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love the Book Depository

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

Categories

August 2011
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031